• March 17th, 2019

    Let’s Meet in the Historical City on 14 April

    International Osmangazi Historical City Run, the leading traditional road race of Bursa, will be held on Sunday, 14th of April.

    The event, offering a unique experience at the historical sites of the city’s largest district, holds once again the “5-star” label of European Athletics at its 14th edition. Despite its undulated course, Osmangazi Historical City Run is one of the favourite races of the road runners owing to its concept. The winner of the 15km pockets USD 2,000 in Osmangazi where the master athletes are separately awarded. For those who would like to run at a shorter distance, there is a public run over 4km on the day.

    To register with the 14th International Bursa Osmangazi Historical City Run, a form must be filled out at Timing services in the event will be provided by Depar Timing.

  • February 8th, 2019

    RAK is the Fastest Again

    11 athletes delivered sub 1 hour performances, and European and Turkish records fell at the RAK Half Marathon where Depar Timing officiated.

    The 13th edition of the event, annually held in Ras Al Khaimah, one of the seven emirates that form the United Arab Emirates, saw very fast times as expected. Stephen Kiprop of Kenya was victorious with 58:42, followed by Ethiopia’s Abadi Hadis in 58:44. Fikadu Haftu, another Ethiopian, finished third in 59:08.

    The 23-year-old Swiss star Julien Wanders, who crossed the finish line in 59:13 in fourth, broke Mo Farah’s European record of 59:32 standing since 2015. Kaan Kigen Özbilen, the last man in the field finishing under an hour, bettered his Turkish record to 59:48, a 20-second improvement from his 1:00:08 in Istanbul last year.

    Following a close battle among three Ethiopians until the last meters, the women’s race was won by Senbere Teferi with a national record time of 1:05:45. Runner-up Netsanet Gudeta, the reigning World Half Marathon champion, was credited the same time for her second position. Zeineba Yimer took the third in 1:05:46, only a second slower than her compatriots.

    Promoted as “the Fastest Half Marathon in the World”, RAK Half Marathon became the first ever event that 11 men dipped under 60 minutes. Timing services in RAK Half Marathon were provided by the local Premier Timing, and Depar Timing acted as the Assisting Timing Company as it was the case for the previous 12 editions.

  • January 30th, 2019

    Runatolia Entries In Progress

    Antalya’s major road running event Runatolia is scheduled to 3 March this year. Registration process will end on 28 February.

    Despite the change of its organiser and its name within the years, the event has been contributing the winter tourism in Turkey since 2006, featuring a weekend long sports festival with several activities and entertainments in addition to its athletic attributions. Starting with the traditional Bambini Run, a 200 meters race for kids, the High Heels Run and the 4km Terracity Run on Saturday 2 March, the event once again includes the marathon, half marathon and a 10km race to be held on Sunday.

    Runatolia entries are processed via the official website of the event at The system will remain open until midnight, 28 February.

  • January 10th, 2019

    Swimming With Caretta Carettas

    Entries are open for the Dalyan Open Water Swimming Race. The event on 28 April will include a longer race for the first time this year.

    Dalyan, the worldwide known tourist destination in the Ortanca district of Muğla city on the south-west coast of Turkey, will once again host the popular swimming event of the spring season. The event, promoted as “Swimming with Caretta Carettas”, will see two separate races, both starting at the İztuzu Beach, an area where the Caretta Caretta sea turtles go ashore to lay their eggs. The participants of the 2.5km race will make a turn around Delikada, the island across the beach, and swim back to where they started. The 5km race will turn around the buoy beyond the island.

    Dalyan Open Water Swimming Race is staged in fourteen age categories from 14 to over 80. Pre-registration is open at, the official website of the event, prepared by the organizer Dalyan Iztuzu Tourism Promotion Association. Final entries will be processed if the registrant sends the required documents to the organizer by 10 April.

  • January 2nd, 2019

    Top Five in 2018 Rankings

    The year 2018 saw the world and Turkish records broken in both marathon and half marathon. Eliud Kipchoge will be the one to be remembered for years.

    The 34-year-old Kenyan Eliud Kipchoge improved the world record by 1 minute 18 seconds with an incredible performance at the Berlin Marathon in September. One month later, his compatriot Abraham Kiptum broke the world half marathon record in Valencia.

    On the Turkish side, it was Kaan Kigen Özbilen who starred in 2018 by his half marathon record in Istanbul in April, and the marathon record in Amsterdam in October.

    Top five in the 2018 lists are as follows;

    Men's marathon world rankings:
    2:01:39 Eliud Kipchoge, Kenya (Berlin, 16 September)
    2:04:00 Mosinet Geremew, Ethiopia (Dubai, 26 January)
    2:04:02 Leule Gebrselassie, Ethiopia (Dubai, 26 January)
    2:04:06 Tamirat Tola, Ethiopia (Dubai, 26 January)
    2:04:06 Asefa Mengstu, Ethiopia (Dubai, 26 January)
    2:04:06 Lawrence Cherono, Kenya (Amsterdam, 21 October)

    Men's marathon Turkish rankings:
    2:06:24  Kaan Kigen Özbilen (Amsterdam, 21 October)
    2:16:15  Mert Girmalegesse (Istanbul, 11 November)
    2:17:57  Muzaffer Bayram (Dusseldorf, 29 April)
    2:18:11  Üzeyir Söylemez (Dusseldorf, 29 April)
    2:18:46  Yavuz Ağralı (Berlin, 12 August)

    Women's marathon world rankings:
    2:18:11  Gladys Cherono, Kenya (Berlin, 16 September)
    2:18:31  Vivian Cheruiyot, Kenya (London, 22 April)
    2:18:34  Ruti Aga, Kenya (Berlin, 16 September)
    2:18:35  Brigid Kosgei, Kenya (Chicago, 7 October)
    2:18:35  Ruth Chepngetich, Kenya (Istanbul, 11 November)

    Women's marathon Turkish rankings:
    2:32:23  Elvan Abeylegesse (Istanbul, 11 November)
    2:36:21  Fadime Çelik (Dusseldorf, 29 April)
    2:38:45  Şeyma Yıldız (Dusseldorf, 29 April)
    2:39:45  Tubay Erdal (Dusseldorf, 29 April)
    2:39:58  Elif Dağdelen (Dusseldorf, 29 April)

    Men's half marathon world rankings:
    58:18  Abraham Kiptum, Kenya (Valenciya, 28 October)
    58:33  Jemal Yimer, Ethiopia (Valenciya, 28 October)
    58:42  Bedan Karoki, Kenya (Ras Al Khaimah, 9 February)
    58:42  Eric Kiptanui, Kenya (Berlin, 8 April)
    58:44  Abadi Hadis, Ethiopia(Valenciya, 28 October)

    Men's half marathon Turkish rankings:
    1:00:08  Kaan Kigen Özbilen (Istanbul, 8 April)
    1:01:03  Polat Kemboi Arıkan (Lisbon, 11 March)
    1:02:48  Aras Kaya (Istanbul, 8 April)
    1:05:13  Aykut Taşdemir (Trabzon, 18 February)
    1:05:13  Yusuf Alıcı (Trabzon, 18 February) 

    Women's half marathon world rankings:
    1:04:52  Fancy Chemutai, Kenya (Ras Al Khaimah, 9 February)
    1:04:55  Mary Keitany, Kenya (Ras Al Khaimah, 9 February)
    1:05:04  Joan Chelimo Melly, Kenya (Prague, 7 April)
    1:05:07  Caroline Kipkirui, Kenya (Ras Al Khaimah, 9 February)
    1:05:15  Sifan Hassan, Netherlands (Copenhag, 16 September)

    Women's half marathon Turkish rankings:
    1:12:27  Elvan Abeylegesse (Bucharest, 13 May)
    1:12:32  Büşra Nur Koku (Trabzon, 18 February)
    1:13:28  Şeyma Yıldız (Trabzon, 18 February)
    1:13:36  Esma Aydemir (Doha, 12 January)
    1:13:47  Ümmü Kiraz (Cologne, 7 October)