• August 16th, 2019

    Tokyo Roads To Beat The Heat

    The marathon course of the Olympic and Paralympic Games 2020 in Tokyo is planned to be paved with a heat-shielding material.

    Tokyo 2020 Organising Committee announced that the roads of the city will be paved with a special coating that is expected to suppress temperature rises by as much as eight degrees. The project is a part of the extreme heat countermeasures being implemented for the Games. A portion of Aoyama Avenue had already been paved with a special coating that reflects infrared rays, and 1984 Los Angeles Olympic marathon runner Toshihiko Seko and wheelchair marathoner Nobukazu Hanaoka participated in a test run on an intensely hot and humid day. Both athletes agreed that the temperature of the specially coated road surface was much lower than that of the uncoated surfaces.

    The marathon events in Tokyo are scheduled to 6:00 am, with forecasted temperatures over 30 degrees Celsius at that time of the day during the season.

  • August 14th, 2019

    Visitors Reach One Million

    The website of Depar Timing, electronic timing pioneer in Turkey, has just welcomed visitor number one million on 14 August.

    Having carried out the very first transponder timing in Turkey at the Eurasia Marathon in November 2006, Depar Timing provided timing and side services at over 400 road running, cross country and mountain races as well as swimming, cycling, triathlon, Ironman and classic car events both in Turkey and abroad ever since. Whilst the live results are made available through screens during the races, the officials results are posted on Depar Timing’s website shortly after the finish of the events, mostly visited by the participants and media members. Since its inauguration of in the spring of 2013, the website accommodates news before and after the involved races along with the happenings in the similar sporting events around the world.

  • July 29th, 2019

    Tour de France Report

    The overall general classification of Tour de France is won by Egan Bernal who became the third youngest winner of all time.

    Bernal, at the age of 22, rode into history by becoming first ever Colombian to win the Tour, and the youngest ever winner of the yellow jersey since its inception 100 years ago. The newly crowned champion is the eighth cycler in Tour de France who topped the podium without winning any stage. The Team Ineos rider is followed by his British teammate Graint Thomas, and Steven Kruijswijk of the Netherlands representing Team Jumbo-Visma, in the overall general classification.

    In the Tour starting on the 6th of July and finishing on the 28th, Movistar won the team classification, with Trek-Segafredo second and Team Ineos in the third position.

    The stage winners of Tour de France 2019 are as follows:

    6 July (194.5km): Mike Teunissen, Netherlands
    7 July (27.6km - Team Time Trial): Jumbo-Visma, Netherlands
    8 July (215km): Julian Alaphilippe, France
    9 July (213.5km): Elia Viviani, Italy
    10 July (175.5km): Peter Sagan, Slovakia
    11 July (160.5 km): Dylan Teuns, Belgium
    12 July (230km): Dylan Groenewegen, Netherlands
    13 July (200km): Thomas De Gendt, Belgium
    14 July (170.5km): Daryl Impey, South Africa
    15 July (217.5km): Wout van Aert, Belgium
    16 July: Rest day
    17 July (167km): Caleb Ewan, Australia
    18 July (209.5km): Simon Yates, Great Britain
    19 July (27.2km - Individual Time Trial): Julian Alaphilippe, France
    20 July (117.5km): Thibaut Pinot, France
    21 July (185km): Simon Yates, Great Britain
    22 July: Rest day
    23 July (177km): Caleb Ewan, Australia
    24 July (200km): Matteo Trentin, Italy
    25 July (208km): Nairo Quintana, Colombia
    26 July (126.5km): No stage winner; stopped at 89th km due to weather conditions
    27 July (130km - Shortened to 59.5km’ye due to weather): Vincenzo Nibali, Italy
    28 July (128km): Caleb Ewan, Australia

  • July 28th, 2019

    Swimmers Strike Out in Black Sea

    Nearly 300 swimmers aged from 14 to 77 competed at the 2nd edition of Karadeniz Ereğli International Open Water Swimming Race.

    The event, organized by Karadeniz Ereğli Municipality in cooperation with İstanbul Yıldızlar Sports Club, included a 1500m and 3000m race. The results were provided in a total of 49 categories by Depar Timing, the official timer of the event.

    First swimmer to come out of the water in the 1500m was Evren Durak at 26:08 while Duygu Özdemir was the first female finisher with 27:31. Nilay Erkal, who delivered a fast time of 37:09, was the overall winner of the 3000m, Muhammet Çelik being victorious on the men's side.

  • July 23th, 2019

    100th Anniversary of National Struggle

    The city of Erzurum will celebrate the 100th Anniversary of Turkish National Struggle with a 10km race on Saturday, 27 July.

    Erzurum, where an important step was taken for building up the civilian resistance against the occupation of the country following the World War I that ultimately led to the creation of the Republic of Turkey, is remembered in the city with various activities including the 10km road race. One hundred years after Mustafa Kemal Atatürk took the leadership to convene a national congress on 23 July 1919, the city is now set to welcome runners from all over the country. Entries for the Erzurum 100th Anniversary of National Struggle is processed online at Timing services in the event will be provided by Depar Timing.