October 1st, 2018

Swimmers Leave Bodrum Happy

9th International Arena Aquamasters Swimming Championships, gathering more than one thousand swimmers in Bodrum, concluded with great success.

The ninth edition of the event is hosted by Bodrum Municipality in cooperation with the Turkish Swimming Federation and the Muğla Provincial Directorate of Youth Services and Sports, under the auspices of Governorship of Muğla. The Championships is title-sponsored by the world leading water sports brand Arena and supported by the brand’s Turkish distributor Sportive. Increasing the number of participants in each event, 9th Arena Aquamasters Swimming Championships brought over one thousand swimming passionates from various countries together in Bodrum, welcomed by Hapimag Sea Garden Resort.

Aiming to spread the compassion of nature, sea and swimming within everyone aged from 7 to 70, the Championships have involved a total of 12 thousand people up to now. The first day in Bodrum saw the Profilo Full Moon Meet, the Arena Aquakids Swimming Event, a race for kids named after Arena for the first time, and the Profilo Open Water Endurance Half Marathon. Hapimag Marathon at a distance of 10km and 4x500m Relay Meet followed on the second day. The event concluded with the two-stage Peugeot Open Water Swimming Championship, held over 1.5km and 3km. Besides the swimming races, the participants also enjoyed several activities incorporated in the Championships.

Timing services in the 9th International Arena Aquamasters Swimming Championships were provided by Depar Timing. The women’s division of the 500m long Profilo Full Moon Meet was won by Hilal Zeyneb Saraç in 5:52, and Tolga Öcal was the winner on the men’s side with 5:26. The Guest of Honour of the event, Carina Bruwer, was victorious in the 5km Profilo Open Water Endurance Half Marathon with 1:19:56, where Oleg Astanin became the first male finisher in a time of 1:15:06. The women’s winner of Hapimag Marathon on the second day was again Carina Bruwer with 2:44:58 and Emrah Özsevim with 2:33:03. In the Peugeot Open Water Swimming Championship, Pınar Arpınar Avşar and Halim Lafci were top finishers in women’s and men’s races in 25:47 and 22:42 respectively, 3km titles went to Deniz Kayadelen with 47:05 in the women’s race, and to Oleg Astanin in men with 41:05.

International Arena Aquamasters Swimming Championships is held three times a year following the inclusion of Istanbul in August 2018 after Marmaris and Bodrum.